The Curious Case of the Google “e”

First of all, I would like to begin this post with the declaration that I do not imbibe or indulge in mind-altering chemicals.

That said, this morning, as I viewed my Google homepage, something struck me as very odd. The lettering of the Google logo has a very strange font, to me anyway.

Rather than the classic sans Serif or New Times Roman, this curious slant of the upper portion of the letter seems to be as striking as anything.

It’s almost like the “e” is laughing, as it’s positioned center screen, tilted slightly upwards, awaiting your query.

The other letters don’t jettison out of conformity. It’s only this “e.”

Knowing the science behind a monolith such as Google, there is certainly more than a stylistic reasoning for this.

Again, I hearken back to the font almost making one think of laughter.

Who’s laughing?

Google?

Isn’t Google supposed to be our “friend.”

As you might’ve guessed, I Googled  “the Google “e” ” and found nothing relative to my questioning.

Maybe the “e” is for eye, as in the all-seeing eye of the Internet.

How curious a case…

 

Jones, My Opinion

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under all seeing eye, Google font, Google humor, Surveillance, symbolism

4 responses to “The Curious Case of the Google “e”

  1. Anonymous

    I was thinking about this earlier and just searched to see if many people had noticed it. The “e” is certainly laughing!

  2. Anonymous

    e is for evil, and the second g looks like a pair of handcuffs.

  3. Anonymous

    Heineken used this e in their logo way before google did 🙂

  4. Anonymous

    This is the laughing e , originally used in Heineken to give a less cheerful and less formal look.

Leave a Reply

